Sufjan Stevens Does Another Christmas Release

Holiday season box set in the pipeline

There's been talk of a possible Christmas release by Sufjan Stevens for a few days, after the appearance of a Tumblr page saying “CHRISTMAS IS COMING!” and featuring several gifs made from scenes from films like “Silent Night” and “Black Christmas”. Now, the rumours are confirmed. Stevens has announced the release of a box set featuring five EPs, with the title “Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Volumes 6-10”. It is, as its name suggests, the follow-up to “Songs for Christmas” (Asthmatic Kitty, 2006), on which his first five Christmas EPs were bundled.

The music on this new release (58 tracks in total) was written and recorded between 2006 and 2010, with the occasional collaboration of Richard Reed Parry ( Arcade Fire) Aaron and Bryce Dessner ( The National), members of Danielson, Cat Martino, Sebastian Krueger, Gabriel Kahane, and Vesper Stamper. The box set will be out on 13th November on Asthmatic Kitty, on CD and vinyl, in both cases containing stickers, fake tattoos, a Christmas decoration, “hallucinogenic” photos, a poster, a colouring book (only with the vinyl version), a lyrics sheet, chord charts, and liner notes. All with “psychedelic graphic art” by our hero himself.

As a first appetiser, we leave you with “Christmas Unicorn”. The full tracklist is here.

¿Te ha gustado este contenido?...

Hoy en PlayGround Vídeo:

Ver todos los vídeos

Hoy en PlayGround Video