In January, Pantha Du Prince Will Release “Elements Of Light”, His Album With The Bell Laboratory

You can already hear a first advance track from it, “Photon”

It was the summer of 2011 when we started to hear about Pantha Du Prince & The Bell Laboratory, an adventure in which Hendrik Weber (Pantha Du Prince) has been collaborating with Norwegian composer Lars Petter Hagen on the composition of a series of pieces that were said to be focused on “exploring the possibilities of bells and melodic percussion within the setting of an ensemble”. The first result of their work, a composition for carillon and four percussionists, was premiered last season within the framework of Oslo’s Øyafestival. Over a year later, we have received news of the album collection of the German’s work with The Bell Laboratory.

Next 14th January (a day later on the other side of the ocean) “Elements Of Light” will come out on Rough Trade. The album, made using synthesizers, percussion and carillon (a musical instrument composed of tuned bronze bells played from a baton keyboard), was made with the participation of composer Lars Petter Hagan and carillon player Vegar Sandholt. Influenced by the work of John Cage, Steve Reich and Iannus Xenakis, the German’s new album is made up of five seamlessly joined pieces oscillating between tinkling electronica and classical music with repetitive forms. It will still be some time until we can listen to the experiment itself, but they have shared a first advance titled “Photon” which promises candlelit dreams.

¿Te ha gustado este contenido?...

Hoy en PlayGround Vídeo:

Ver todos los vídeos

Hoy en PlayGround Video