PlayGround utiliza cookies para que tengas la mejor experiencia de navegación. Si sigues navegando entendemos que aceptas nuestra cookies policy. Close

Playground magazine


The Rapture

The Rapture

Members: Luke Jenner, Vito Roccoforte, Gabriel Andruzzi

Origin: New York, USA

Labels: DFA Records, Universal Motown


The Rapture are a New York dance-rock band, influenced by different genres including post-punk (of which they were key players in the revival of in the noughties), acid house and rock. The band's beginnings lie in 1998, when drummer Vito Roccoforte and singer and guitarist Luke Jenner got together. In 2001, bassist Matt Safe joined the band. With the help of the DFA production team they released the single “House Of Jealous Lovers” in 2003, followed by their debut album “Echoes”. Two singles off of the record made it into the British Top 40. Around that time, Gabriel Andruzzi joined the group, thus completing their live line-up.

The Rapture released their second LP, “Pieces Of The People We Love” in September 2006. The album was produced by Paul Epworth, Ewan Pearson and Danger Mouse. In 2007 they played support act for Daft Punk on the American leg of their world tour. In July 2009, Matt Safer left the band. On 6th September 2011 they released their third album, “In The Grace Of Your Love”. The record, produced by Philippe Zdar, marked the band's return to DFA.

Selected discography

“Echoes” (DFA-Vertigo, 2003)

“Pieces Of The People We Love” (Universal Motown, 2006)

In The Grace Of Your Love” (DFA, 2011)