PlayGround utiliza cookies para que tengas la mejor experiencia de navegación. Si sigues navegando entendemos que aceptas nuestra cookies policy. Close

Playground magazine


Hot Chip

Hot Chip

Members: Alexis Taylor, Joe Goddard, Owen Clarke, Felix Martin, Al Doyle

Origen: London, UK

Labels: Moshi Moshi, DFA, Parlophone, EMI

Aliases: Booji Boy High


Hot Chip are a London band formed in 2000 by school friends Alexis Taylor and Joe Goddard. It wasn't until 2003 that the band was completed by Owen Clarke, Felix Martin and Al Doyle. They made their album debut a year later on Moshi Moshi with “Coming On Strong”, after having released several records on their own. The album drew the attention of DFA and EMI, for whom they recorded their second and acclaimed album , “The Warning”. The LP featured hits like “Boy From School” and “Over And Over”, which entered the top 40 of the British charts in 2006. Established as the new kings of electro-pop, the “DJ-Kicks” series commissioned a contribution, for which they mixed key figures of the minimal scene at the time (Dominik Eulberg, Gabriel Ananda) with classics from all genres (This Heat, Grauzone, Ray Charles, Black Devil Disco Club). In 2009, another prestigious DJ mix series, Bugged Out!, requested a new set.

True to their bi-annual schedule, in 2008 they released “Made In The Dark”, which featured tracks like “Ready For The Floor” (originally written for Kylie Minogue) and “Shake A Fist”. They also released an EP with Robert Wyatt. That year they were on the bill of many prestigious festivals: Oxegen, Coachella, V Festival, FIB and Roskilde, among other. After a long world tour, in February 2009 they returned to the studio to record their fourth LP, “One Life Stand”. The band have also done a lot of remixes - although lately they have slowed down somewhat in that department - re-working tracks by artists like Caribou, Neon Neon, !!!, Queens Of The Stone Age, Amy Winehouse, Gorillaz and Junior Boys.

Selected discography

“Coming On Strong” (Moshi Moshi, 2004)

“The Warning” (DFA, 2006)

“DJ Kicks” (!K7, 2007)

“Made In The Dark” (EMI, 2008)

“One Life Stand” (Parlophone, 2010)