PlayGround utiliza cookies para que tengas la mejor experiencia de navegación. Si sigues navegando entendemos que aceptas nuestra cookies policy. Close

Playground magazine


Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes

Members: Robin Pecknold, Skyler Skjelset, J. Tillman, Casey Wescott, Christian Wergo, Morgan Henderson

Origin: Seattle, USA

Labels: Bella Union, Sub Pop


Fleet Foxes are a Seattle band formed in 2006, the year they released the self-titled debut EP; which was produced by Phil Ek (Built To Spill, The Shins, Band Of Horses). At the end of 2007 they rose to fame thanks to word-of-mouth. In only two months, their MySpace profile received 250,000 streams of their tracks. In January 2008 they signed with Sub Pop. On that label, they released their second EP two months later, the acclaimed “Sun Giant”, and in June their first self-titled album came out. The record, also produced by Ek, made them one of the most important bands on the present folk scene (sprinkled with the sunniest sixties pop melodies) and they subsequently headlined some of the world's biggest festivals.

The follow-up, slated for release just a year after its predecessor, was delayed because of their busy concert schedule and technical problems in the studio. After a process of two years, “Helplessness Blues” came on the market, once again produced by Phil Ek. The album came in at number 4 on the Billboard 200 and landed them a Grammy nomination for Best Folk Album. Drummer J. Tillman, is also involved in a parallel project that seems to reveal the dark side of Fleet Foxes, much more intense, it suggests a depressive kind of folk-rock.

Selected discography

“Sun Giant EP” (Sub Pop, 2008)

“Fleet Foxes” (Sub Pop, 2008)

“Helplessness Blues” (Sub Pop, 2011)