The Best New Tracks Of September According To PlayGround

A new month, a new list of the ten best songs from the past four weeks

Here goes our selection of the ten best tracks released in September. From 10 to 1, an overview of the freshest material out there.

Here goes our selection of the ten best tracks released in September. From 10 to 1, an overview of the freshest material out there.

10. Deptford Goth: “Life After Defo”

There could be any number of reasons, and sometimes it's hard to put one's finger on it, but there are songs that captivate you with their magic right from the get go. It happened to us with the new tune by Deptford Goth, the project by London producer Daniel Woolhouse, who, after making his debut last year with the EP “Youth II”, brings us a heart-felt and ultra-magnetic electronic ballad called “ Life After Defo”. Its magnificent video in black and white only reinforces that good impression.

9. MS MR: “Dark Doo Wop”

The EP “Candy Bar Creep Show” by MS MR features the already known Bones and Hurricane ”, plus two new tunes, “ Ash Tree Lane” and this here Dark Doo Wop. The New York duo show us their most intimate side, downplaying the synth-pop, reducing the musical framework to a minimum (at first, anyway, later it grows instrumentally, becoming more tense and emotional), so that the voice can shine over some doo-wop loops.

8. Disclosure: “Latch ft. Sam Smith”

Add another notch in the belts of the very young Lawrence brothers, who have been producing at a vertiginous pace this 2012 – and without a drop in the quality of their songs at all, quite the contrary. The latest from Disclosure is called " Latch" and Sam Smith has collaborated on vocals. There is still no official release date, but this will be the duo’s first title for PMR Records.

7. The xx: “Angels (Four Tet Remix)”

After the flood of unofficial reinterpretations of The xx's “ Angels”, most of which the world could easily do without, yesterday Four Tet's remix was debuted on Huw Stephens' BBC Radio 1 show. Kieran Hebden, who already made a brilliant remix of their “ VCR”, remains true to the intimate moods of the song, and wraps Romy Madley-Croft’s desolate vocal parts in humid clouds, brittle melodies, and distant rhythms. A new winner, for which at this point there is no official release date, but which will likely be put out alongside a remix by Jamie xx of a track by Four Tet himself.

6. Crystal Castles: “Wrath Of God”

Right on time, as they had announced, Alice Glass and Ethan Kath have just put out Wrath Of God, the second single from “(III)”, an album that will be out this coming 5th November. The song, like all of the others on the album, is said to have been recorded in a single take, directly onto tape and using only hardware (no computers). Crystal Castles were seeking to capture “ the rawest expression of an idea” this way.

5. Bat For Lashes: “All Your Gold”

A few days ago we brought you Marilyn as the second advance track from “The Haunted Man”. However, judging from the footnotes from All Your Gold, this one, and not the more vibrant "Marilyn", is going to be the official second single from Bat For Lashes' new album. A rather risky PR move.

4. Kanye West feat. R. Kelly: “To The World”

A few hours after having heard the first snippets from "Cruel Summer", several full tracks from the first collaborative album from G.O.O.D. Music are surfacing on the web. The one you'll find below is the tremendous " To The Word" by Kanye West and R. Kelly (produced by Hudson Mohawke).

3. Lana Del Rey: “Ride”

The extended reissue of “ Born To Die” (Universal, 2012) will include – in addition to the original album plus bonus tracks “Without You”, “Lolita” and “Lucky Ones” - a second CD featuring nine unreleased tracks, one of which is this Ride.

2. Kanye West, Jay-Z & Big Sean: “Clique”

On 17th September we could finally hear "Cruel Summer", the G.O.O.D. Music family album. Until that day, Kanye West knew how to keep his people entertained, excited and expectant, with tracks like " Clique". At the helm on this track is Hit-Boy.

1. Andy Stott: “Numb”

When the Modern Love label gave out the basic release details of “Luxury Problems”, they hinted at a new twist in the sound of Andy Stott. The first-time use of vocals the label talked about in the press release is now confirmed with Numb, a strangely magnetic track featuring the whispers of Alison Skidmore over distant sounding techno, smothered in dense atmospheres. Scott is going for more clarity and purity with a six-and-a-half-minute long, deeply hypnotic song that sounds like a marriage between the spirits of Basic Chanel and Tri Angle. “Luxury Problems” is due out on 29th October.

¿Te ha gustado este contenido?...

Hoy en PlayGround Vídeo:

Ver todos los vídeos

Hoy en PlayGround Video