The Best June Tracks According To Playground

Our lists of songs of the month

Here's our selection of the ten best tracks released in June. From 10 to 1, an overview of the freshest tunes for your iPod.

Our monthly charts section wouldn't be complete without a selection of the ten best tracks released in June, anticipating surprising singles, much-awaited albums, or unexpected tracks. Here goes.

10. Kuedo: “Work, Live & Sleep In Collapsing Space (Laurel Halo Remix)”

“Work, Live & Sleep In Collapsing Space” is the new EP by Jamie Teasdale, alias Kuedo, on Planet Mu. To accompany the title cut, recorded during the sessions for the acclaimed “ Severant” (Planet Mu, 2011), the Briton asked Laurel Halo and Claude Speed for remixes. Here we leave you with the volatile and crystalline reconstruction by Halo. The record is due out on 25th June.

9. Eaux: “Luther”

The founding members of Sian Alice Group, Sian Ahern, Stephen Warrington and Ben Crook, return to life under the name Eaux. The London outfit let their hypnotic guitar riffs and soothing synth lines carry them along, supporting Sian’s precious voice. Their first track is called “Luther”, due out on 7” vinyl on 8th June, on Morning Ritual Recordings.

8. Dirty Projectors: “Dance For You”

The genesis of the album itself already heralded a different focus, closer to the early works than to “Bitte Orca” (Domino, 2009). And in case there was any doubt remaining, “ Dance For You” has come to confirm the feelings that Gun Has No Trigger had already awakened. The song sounds spare and close-up, a product of more solitary than communal gestation. Hearing it, it’s easy to see Dave Longstreth sitting in front of the microphone, recording alone in his old rental home in the forests of northern New York, playing guitars and clapping over a rhythm that is as playful as it is delicate. But not everything is cheap, portable resources; the kind of things that a man like Longstreth always has “on hand”. In the middle of the song, some orchestrations are present that sound like they were added later, as if the season and mood had changed after a few months, and Dirty Projectors had wanted to spice up the song with a spring breeze full of pollen. The album, remember, will be out on 10th July via Domino.

7. Björk: “Mutual Core (Matthew Herbert's Teutonic Plates Mix)”

And the beat goes on. You can already pre-order the seventh instalment of the “Biophilia Remix Series” (by 16 Bit) at Björk's digital store, while the sixth is just out, featuring the reworks by sound alchemist Matthew Herbert. The Briton has managed to make three of the biggest pillars of “Biophilia” (“ Mutual Core”, “ Sacrifice”, and “ Virus”) even bigger. Listen to the entire EP after the jump.

6. Azealia Banks: “1991”

Today is the digital release of 1991 (physical formats will come out on 12th June), the delayed EP by Azealia Banks. And, as expected, some altruistic souls have already placed the songs we didn't know yet on YouTube: the title track and the hypnotic “Van Vogue”. After all the buzz, are you satisfied? We're all ears.

5. Nathan Fake: “Iceni Strings”

In the past two years, Nathan Fake has hardly released anything new, but the wait will be over soon. Border Community is putting out a new album by the sensitive Norfolk boy on 27th August. “Steam Days” will be preceded by “Iceni Strings”, a single holding three new and unreleased tracks, set for release on 11th June. The name of the first advance track - a slice of bubbling, IDM-infused techno with gliding melodies and synth chimes - is inspired by the ancient Celtic tribe that once roamed the area of Norfolk. It's time to imagine those landscapes as seen from the air.

4. Jessie Ware: “Wildest Moments”

Jessie Ware keeps peeling off the layers of “ Devotion”, her promising upcoming debut full-length on PMR. After the glorious Running, and the no-less-exciting 110%, this time she's releasing “Wildest Moments”. The latter is a track produced by Dave Okumu (guitarist and singer of The Invisible) and Kid Harpoon, on which soul makes way for an equally enjoyable pop sound. On this occasion, Jessie sounds like a more relaxed and intimate version of Florence + The Machine. The album is due out on 13th August.

3. Cat Power: “Cherokee”

Confirmed: “Sun”, Cat Power’s coming album, is expected to be one of the season’s big releases. Chan Marshall already gave us a first tasty appetiser for her return, called Ruin ”. But now, with this “ Cherokee”, a song marked by the play of vocals and a drum machine, the American has us more in love with her than ever. We hope that the rest of the cuts live up to it. We’ll see in September, when Matador puts out the album.

2. Holy Other: “Love Some1”

With U, their EP from 2011, was one of those records that, in spite of their almost furtive presence, makes an impression. Out of nowhere, elusive British producer Holy Other touched a nerve in us with four evocative tunes mixing dubstep, UK garage, R&B, and urban pop. Tri Angle is now announcing the follow-up to that story of melancholy, sadness and euphoria with a soundtrack of electronica for the introverted souls. The label directed by Robin Carolan will release Holy Other's first full-length on 28th August. The album will be called “Held”, and judging from this first advance track, it seems destined to get stuck in our players in times of post-vacation nostalgia.

1. Frank Ocean: “Pyramids”

A few hours after Friday's video teaser, Frank Ocean released the first single from his official debut full-length. The song is called “Pyramids”, and is nine minutes long. With a first part on a danceable disco-funk tip, in the second part the track becomes a cosmic R&B ballad. Def Jam has confirmed that the album, “Channel Orange”, will come out on 17th July.

¿Te ha gustado este contenido?...

Hoy en PlayGround Vídeo:

Ver todos los vídeos

Hoy en PlayGround Video