The Best New Tracks From July, According To PlayGround

Ten brilliant songs from last month, in descending order

Here's our selection of the ten best tracks from July. From 10 to 1, an overview of the freshest stuff for your iPod and hard drive.

Our overview of last month's charts wouldn't be complete without a selection of the ten best tracks that surfaced on the internet in July, anticipating outstanding singles, much awaited albums and other surprises.

10. Passion Pit: “Constant Conversations”

Constant Conversations” is one of the 12 cuts on “Gossamer”, the new album from Passion Pit. What might be a potential third single from Michael Angelakos’ band sounds lovable and relaxed, with an affable soul aftertaste, thanks to the backing vocals that go with the cut.

9. Tyler, The Creator + Toro Y Moi: “Hey You”

Who would have thought? We know we wouldn't have. The sweet dream-pop made by Toro Y Moi goes really well with Tyler’s voice from the grave, as proven by this " Hey You", a song that surfaced on the internet and that has left us flabbergasted. An 80s fantasy beat with a sensual cadence, over which Tyler and his low voice flow with extra sex appeal. This smells of sex in public with strangers and we love it.

8. Animal Collective: “Today's Supernatural”

Coinciding with the first broadcast of their online radio show, Animal Collective made the song that will be the first official single from “Centripede Hz” public. It is called Today's Supernatural and it is a hot jam with a taste of acid rock, dominated by organs and percussion with a Latin aftertaste. The album will be out on 3rd September via Domino.

7. Jacques Greene: “Ready”

The complete version of Jacques Greene’s Ready , taken from his coming EP for Martyn’s label, 3024, takes the clock up to six and a half minutes and confirms Greene’s shift towards 4/4 house rhythms.

6. Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti: “Only In My Dreams”

About a month ago, we heard the first advance from the anxiously-awaited “Mature Themes”, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti’s new album. Although “ Baby” was irresistible, it’s true that many of us were left wanting a taste of something more than a faithful version of someone else’s song done with DâM-FunK. Well, now we can finally hear the first of the new songs written by Ariel Pink, “ Only In My Dreams, a cut that at times shows us the more 60s side of Haunted Graffiti, as if The Byrds had slipped into the programming of an AOR radio station, with a few nods to bands like 10cc and Fleetwood Mac.

5. Flying Lotus feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Captain Murphy: “Between Friends”

We didn't see this one coming. We knew that - after The Field - Flying Lotus was next in line on the Adult Swim Singles Program this year, but nobody told us about this juicy collaboration. The Brainfeeder boss made Between Friends with Odd Future member Earl Sweatshirt and one Captain Murphy, who could - or could not - be Tyler, The Creator in disguise. Listening to his flow, we'd say it's him.

4. Crystal Castles: “Plague”

It's still unclear whether Plagueis an advance track from Crystal Castles' upcoming third album or not. The song is offered as a direct download from the band’s SoundCloud; you only need to click here to get it onto your hard disk. Within just over fifteen minutes of posting it, the Canadian couple had already had over 20,000 hits to listen to it and over 2,000 appreciative posts on that ingenious devil that answers to the name of Facebook. There must be something to it.

3. Bat For Lashes: “Laura”

Bat For Lashes are sharing Laura, the first single taken from the album they're releasing on 16th October. The minimalistic song, constructed with a simple piano, is Natasha Khan's most austere track to date, but it's stunningly beautiful.

2. Rustie Feat. AlunaGeorge: “After Light”

Aluna Francis, singer of AlunaGeorge, puts vocals to Rustie's “ After Light”, with a wonderful result. Because the sweetness of her voice is the perfect counterpoint to the Scot's digital epic. Download it from the Warp website.

1. The xx: “Angels”

We had heard several of their new songs live, but there hadn't been an official advance track from “Coexist”, the very much anticipated second album by The xx, until now. Last Monday, the band released Angels, an extremely fragile, minimalistic song, with an abstract “visualisation” reminiscent of the sleeve art of their new effort in its forms and colours. Young Turks is releasing the album on 11th September.

¿Te ha gustado este contenido?...

Hoy en PlayGround Vídeo:

Ver todos los vídeos

Hoy en PlayGround Video